Listen Live

Listen Live

HomeNewsPG to add a dozen electric vehicle charging stations following government investment

PG to add a dozen electric vehicle charging stations following government investment

- Advertisement -

Twelve new electric vehicle charging stations are coming to Prince George.

A partnership between local, provincial, and federal levels of government along with several First Nation communities will bring a total of 55 new charging stations to northern and central BC.

“Expanding electric vehicle stations across northern, central, and coastal B.C. will make clean transportation options more viable to more people,” said Catherine McKenna, federal Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

“Supporting green energy solutions like this, as well as projects such as the Nuxalk Nation’s run-of-river hydroelectric plant, is essential to building strong resilient communities. Canada’s infrastructure plan invests in thousands of projects, creates jobs across the country, and builds stronger communities.”

- Advertisement -

The project will double the number of stations, which will stretch across 300-thousand square kilometres.

Over 345-thousand dollars in provincial money along with a 415-thousand dollar investment by Ottawa will support the expansion projects.

EV charging stations will be located in the following jurisdictions:

  • 100 Mile House (two stations)
  • Ashcroft (two stations)
  • Barriere (two stations)
  • Burns Lake (one station)
  • Granisle (one station)
  • Haida Gwaii – Masset (one station); Tow Hill (one station); Sandspit (one station); Queen Charlotte (one station)
  • Houston (one station)
  • Kitimat (two stations)
  • Logan Lake (two stations)
  • McBride (four stations)
  • Nisga’a Nation (five stations)
  • Prince George (12 stations)
  • Prince Rupert (two stations)
  • Quesnel (two stations)
  • Smithers (two stations)
  • Stellat’en First Nation (one station)
  • Stewart (one station)
  • Sun Peaks (two stations)
  • Terrace (two stations)
  • Valemount (two stations)
  • Vanderhoof (two stations)
  • Village of Hazelton (one station)
- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading