The most anticipated golf event in Northern BC is returning to Prince George this weekend.

The Prince George Cougars, the Prince George Cougars’ Alumni Association and the Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation have teamed up once again for the eighth annual Prince George Cougars Alumni Hospital Charity Golf Tournament.

For an eighth consecutive year, the tournament is sold out. The two-day event takes place this Friday (CN Centre) and Saturday (Prince George Golf and Curling Club). Over the past seven years, the Prince George Cougars and the Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation have partnered to raise close to $500,000 towards healthcare in Northern BC.

For the past three years, fundraising for the tournament has focused on cardiac care. With a fundraising goal of $80,000 this year, the focus for the tournament is to close in on the final funding needed to purchase a Vivid Q Cardiac Ultrasound to be used by anesthesiologists at UHNBC. Last year, nearly $74,000 was raised to help complete the Spirit of the North’s regional cardiac strategy for UHNBC.

Registration for the 2019 tournament includes the following:

Friday, July 12, at the CN Centre:

  • Media availability with Alumni (4:30-5:30 p.m.)
  • Buffet dinner for all participants
  • A wide variety of live & silent auction items (featuring auctioneer Bill Brown)
  • Live auction opportunity to bid on Cougars Alumni & staff to join your golf team

Saturday, July 13, at the Prince George Golf and Curling Club:

  • Round of golf with Cougars Alumni and staff at the Prince George Golf and Curling Club
  • Catered dinner for all participants at the Prince George Golf and Curling Club
  • Numerous hole prizing and contests
  • Numerous silent auction items

Confirmed alumni for this year’s tournament include Eric Brewer (1995-1998), Nick Drazenovic (2002-2007), Chase Witala (2011-2016) Ronald Petrovicky (1994-1997), and Ty Edmonds (2013-2017). Making their first appearance at this year’s event are Josh Curtis (2015-2019), Joel Lakusta (2015-2019), and Mike MacLean (2018-2019).