The B.C. Principals & Vice Principals Association’s (BCPVPA) 2020-2021 Board of Directors will feature Sid Jawanda from Prince George’s SD57.

Jawanda is Duchess Park Secondary School’s Principal and President of the Prince George Principals and Vice Principals Association.

A new BCPVPA president has been named, following the conclusion of David DeRosa’s two-year term.

Darren Danyluk from SD6, a secondary school Principal in Invermere, will be leading the organization.

In addition to Jawanda from SD57 there is some northern flavour on the board, which includes Bev Forster from Bulkley Valley and Heidi Grant from Nechako Lakes.

“I’m pretty excited to be taking on a new challenge… and representing a northern voice at the provincial table,” Jawanda said, adding: “our issues are really unique sometimes. Rural schools provide unique problems.”

The board represents 2,595 members from across British Columbia.