After hours of anticipation, the successful candidates for School District 57 Board of Trustees have been announced with some familiar faces returning to the board.

Tim Bennett returns after spending the previous term as Chair. Unofficial election results show Bennett earned 6,605 votes which is over one thousand votes more than any other nominee. This will be Bennett’s third term on the Board of Trustees.

“I am so excited, it has been an incredible journey so far,” says Bennett, who is already anticipating a heavy workload over the next four years.

“We have a lot on our plate. Not just with the local stuff regarding catchment and capacity, but our support staff have an approved provincial framework and I know they are itching to get to local bargaining, we have to look at not only the current enrollment, but we have curriculum implementation, improving our literacy and graduation rates, we have a lot of work ahead of us.”

Joining Bennett on the board, according to unofficial results, are Ron Polillo (5,165), Trent Derrick (4,669), incumbent Sharel Warrington (4,547), and Betty Bekkering (4,432).

“We are bringing together five new trustees, all coming from a wealth of experience and backgrounds,” Bennett explains of the new board.

“We all campaigned on very different things and we want to make sure that everyone is bringing their ideas forward to the board.”

In order from most votes to least, unofficial results have the remaining nominees listed as Trudy Klassen (4,034), incumbent Bruce Wiebe (3,826), Sarah Holland (3,673), Stephanie Mikalishen-Deol (3,281), Corey Walker (2,474), and Allan Kranz (1,659).

For more information on the 2018 SD 57 trustee election, click here.